NLSA Molson Challenge Cup

Thursday, August 20, 2009

West Van FC to represent BC at the 2009 National Challenge Cup

West Van FC wins BC provincial title

Huskies Alumni

West Van FC was the first club to qualify for the 2009 BMO National Championships senior men’s competition. The West Vancouver, BC club won its provincial championship after an exciting 1:0 victory over defending champion Gorge FC from Victoria, BC.

West Van FC’s Robbie Giezen scored the lone goal in the 80th minute, completing a give-and-go series with teammate Milad Rahmati. Goalkeeper Marco Durante posted the clean sheet in the win.

Durante also got lucky, drawing just a yellow card for a hit in the box and then not having to save the kick from the penalty spot. Gorge FC’s Patrick Gawrys walked to the spot, but kicked the ball wide of the net.

West Van FC won the 2008-09 Vancouver Metro Soccer League title before advancing to the Provincial Cup weekend. West Van FC then won all four games in the provincial competition without conceding a goal.

Just last year, both Giezen and Rahmati - the artists of the winning goal - won a Canadian college championship with Capilano University. Giezen is a former member of Canada’s National Training Centres program. Rahmati, meanwhile, was a national U-17 player at the 2001 CONCACAF Under-17 Qualification Tournament. Giezen played for Canada’s U-18 development team.

West Van FC will be making its first trip to the BMO National Championships. The Challenge Trophy competition runs 7-12 October in Saskatoon, SK.

Article courtesy of


Manitoba's 2009 Rep

Huskie Alumni wins provincial title

Huskies AlumniHuskie Alumni qualified for the 2009 BMO National Championships with a 4-0 win in the Saskatchewan Premier Soccer League final. Huskie Alumni is the second club to qualify for the Challenge Trophy competition which will be held in Saskatoon, SK this October. Huskie Alumni won 4-0 over ACFC Milan of Regina.

'Everyone had a hand in (our championship), everyone made an effort,' said Huskie Alumni head coach Stewart Gillott.

Huskie Alumni reached the final after finishing first in the regular season with seven wins, two draws and no losses. The team allowed just one goal all season long: Colo Colo’s Todd Fredrickson holds the distinction of scoring that lone goal. Of Huskie Alumni’s 34 goals scored, Jordan Schidlowsky scored a team-best 11 goals during the three-month season (May to July).

Schidlowsky added three more goals to his resume in the final. Nathan Reis, meanwhile, scored the opening and winning goal in the final. Goalkeeper Jeff Dobchuk posted the clean sheet.

The game was close throughout the first half. ACFC Milan had a chance to open the scoring with a shot from the penalty spot in the 24th minute, but the visitor was unable to convert. Reis then opened the scoring in the 30th minute on what Gillott called a 'fortunate goal'.

In the second half, Schidlowsky made it 2-0 in the 50th minute. Schidlowsky pushed up past the centreback and beat the opposing goalkeeper with a chip shot. After that goal, Gillott says 'it looked like the petrol was running out for ACFC Milan.'

Article courtesy of

No comments:

Post a Comment