NLSA Molson Challenge Cup

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

All - NL Molson Masters B Provincial Champions

78 FC Secunda Canada --  All NL 2016  "B" Master Champions


All - NL Masters "B" Championship 
78 FC were crowned the All - NL Master Championship s "B" in Marystown this past weekend. Competing in the tournament were, 78 FC, Century 21 and  Dewalt from the St. John's Soccer Association  and host Marystown United.  The championship game turned out to be a thriller with 78 FC defeating Century 21 by a 3 -2 score with John Hogan scoring a pair for the winners.  Century 21 had been undefeated in their three round robin games. Defender, Tom Foran of 78 FC was named the tournament MVP while Bill Lundrigan of Century 21 was named tournament Most Sportsman Like Player.  

Tom Foran / Tournament MVP

Bill Lundrigan / Tournament MSP 

Century 21 / 2016

Marystown United / 2016

 Dewalt / 2016

Thursday, September 8, 2016

Laurentians pull of the impossible & are crowned 2016 Challenge Cup Champios

2016 Challenge Cup Champions

Laurentians hoist the Challenge  Cup
25th time in 50 Years  --- Travis Parsons Photo

Laurentian fans : Sea of Blue : Travis Parsons Photo

A beautiful shot of St. Lawrence I took during the play-offs

Soccer : The life of St. Lawrence 
The Flags which fly over St. Lawrence's Centennial Field

It all started in 1967 when the St. Lawrence Laurentians
the 1st NLSA Challenge Cup Champs. Thank you guys

2016 All - Stars and Award Winners

2016 ----- Molson Challenge Cup All-Star Team 

All - Star Goalie : Al Slaney Award 
John Douglas : St. Lawrence 

All - Star Defenders
Marc Pittman :St. Lawrence
Clinton Edwards : St. Lawrence 
Kevin Oram : Mount Pearl
Greg Reid : Feildians  

All - Star Midfielders 
Zack Wade : Holy Cross
Owen McAleese : Holy Cross
Mark Reddy : Mount Pearl
Zach Hynes : Feildians

All - Star Strikers 
Stefan Slaney : St. Lawrence 
Tyler Forsey : Mount Pearl

All - Star Coach : Phonse Warren Memorial Award
                                                            Strang : St. Lawrence


2016 Molson Challenge Cup Award Winners

 Zack Wade :  Regular Season MVP

Bobby Breen Memorial Award: 1st overall in regular season
Holy Cross

Jim Goff Memorial Award : Most Spirited 
Trevor Ivany : CBS

 Ed Moyst Award - Rookie of the Year 
Logan McIsaac : Corner  Brook

Jeff Babstock Award : Top Defender 
Marc Pittman : St. Lawrence 

Johnny Breen Award - Top Midfielder
 Zack Wade :Holy Cross 

Wils Molloy : “Golden Boot Award” : Top Goalscorer 
Stefan Slaney (22) : St. Lawrence

Dick Power Memorial Award : MVP Regular Season
 Zack Wade : Holy Cross


2016 Molson Challenge Cup Play-off MVP

                                                                   John Douglas

Gerard Quirke Memorial Award : MVP Playoffs 

John Douglas : St. Lawrence 

Thursday, September 1, 2016

Mark Reddy : Molson Player of the Month for August

 Mark Reddy

Molson Challenge Cup Soccer Player of the Month for August is Mark Reddy of Mount Pearl. Mark captured the award solely  because of the great leadership he displayed in the games which Mount Pearl played in August. His ability to lead by his grit and determination shown to his teammates was simply outstanding. It was Mark's 20 years of experience in the league and his personal drive that pushed the Mount Pearl team to clinch 2nd place in the overall standings.