NLSA Molson Challenge Cup

Monday, August 31, 2009

We are the Champions ! Click Here

Kirby - 2009 Breen Jubilee Champions

Members of the champions include Janine Bussey, Ashley Dawe, Jess Wade, Sarah Chan, Julia Whitten, Sam Hansford, Malorie Harris, Leslie Pope, Nichole Adams, Laura Breen, Vicki Thistle, Dana Brewer, Leighanne Tobin, Nicola Moores, Heather Williams, Jennifer Burry, Kaelyn Burke, Keira Eavis, Maria Oliver, Erika Lannon, coach Scott Betts, assistant coach Gerry Kirby and manager Geralyn Hansford.

Congratulations Kirby !

Soccer Press Release

Contact – Dee Murphy – 722-2137

EPR Kirby/The Dock earned its second provincial senior female soccer championship Monday night as it gained the Breen’s Jubilee Cup title 5-0 over Feildians/Facey Financial Planning at the Feildian Ground.s.

Kirby led 3-0 at half time in a game that was originally scheduled for Sunday but was postponed because of rain.

While Janine Bussey was recording the shutout, Laura Breen scored two goals to pace the offensive attack. Malorie Harris, Nichole Adams and Vicki Thistle had the other goals for the champions,

In addition to the Breen Trophy for the title, Kirby won the Jean Thompson Trophy for first place after the regular season.

The victory earned Kirby the right to represent the province at the national Jubilee Cup championships October 7 to 12 in Saskatoon. Last year Kirby placed, fourth, the best showing ever by a Newfoundland and Labrador female team, when the nationals were held in St. John’s.

Laura Breen won the Sherry Morrissey Award as the playoff most valuable player while teammate Malorie Harris received the Raeleen BaggsAward as regular season MVP.

Nichole Adams of Kirby won the Sandy Faulkner top scorer award and Heather Slaney of Mount Pearl-Electronic Centre-Paradise Physio was winner of the Joy Burt Award as the League’s most spirited player.

Chris Facey of Feildians was selected coach of the year as Stephanie Malone, also of Feildians, was named rookie of the year. Feildians also had the top defender in Laura Tilley.

The League’s all-star team includes

Goalkeeper; Laura Pittman, Feildians/Facey Financial Planning

Defence: Ashley Dawe, EPR Kirby/The Dock; Sarah Scruton, Holy Cross; Missy Stamp, Mount Pearl- Electronic Centre-Paradise Physio; Laura Tilley, Feildians/Facey Financial Planning

Mid-field: Malorie Harris, EPR Kirby/The Dock; Leslie Pope, EPR Kirby /The Dock; Lauren Murphy, Feildians/ Facey Financial Planning

Forward: Nichole Adams, EPR Kirby/The Dock; Laura Breen, EPR Kirby/The Dock; Niki Locke, Mount Pearl-Electronic Centre-Paradiose Phys

No comments:

Post a Comment