NLSA Molson Challenge Cup

Monday, September 3, 2012

Holy Cross blank Feildians 2 -0 to win their 4th consectitive title.

2012 Molson Challenge Cup Champions

2012 Holy Cross Kirby Mens Roster
#1: GK- Brandon Noseworthy, #2: Jake Warren, #3: Chris Pope, #4: Scott Woodfine,              #5: Andre Le, #6: Brian Reddy, #7: Pat Reddick,  #8: Mike Brushett, #9: Matt Breen,
# 10: Jon Hawco, #11: Corey Moore, #12: Andrew Stanford, #13: Steve Delong, #14: Ryan Yetman (C), #15: Jeff Slaney, #16: Jeremy Babstock, #17: Corey Mullett,  #20: Zach Wade,
#21: Mike Dunne
Coach: Jake Stanford, Manager: Mathew Sharpe, Assistant Coach: Ken Jackson,
Goal -tender coach: Scott Edwards

Cross's 4th consectitive championship

Play-off MVP Brandon Noseworthy (H.C.)

Holy Cross Kirby Group won its fourth consecutive Molson provincial Challenge Cup senior soccer championship Sunday with a 2-0 victory over Feildians Ernst and Young in Mount Pearl.

Pat Reddick at 27 minutes and Zack Wade at 70 minutes accounted for the Holy Cross goals while Brandon Noseworthy posted his second playoff shutout.

Noseworthy was selected winner of the Gerard Quirke Memorial Award as the most valuable player in the playoffs.

Holy Cross/Kirby Group won the Bobby Breen Memorial Trophy for first place for the regular season.

The champions will represent Newfoundland and Labrador in the Canadian championships October 3 to October 8 in Winnipeg.


Holy Cross blanked Mount Pearl /That Pro Look/Molson 4-0 Friday night. Jon Hawco, Steve DeLong, Jake Warren and Zack Wade scored for Holy Cross and Noseworthy had the shut out.

Goals by Ian Manderville and Zack Hynes overcame a 1-0 St. Lawrence lead for Feildians who won 2-1. Stefan Slaney scored for the losers.

Goalkeeper: Brandon Noseworthy : Holy Cross/ Kirby Group
Defense: Marc Pittman, St. Lawrence Labatt Laurentians, Jon Kelly, Mount Pearl/ That Pro Look/ Molson, Jeff Slaney, Holy Cross/Kirby Group, Greg Reid, Feildians Ernest & Young
Midfield: Zack Wade, Holy Cross/ Kirby Group, Pat Reddick, Holy Cross Kirby Group, Matthew Hamlyn, Mount Pearl/That Pro Look/Molson, Jon Grant, St. Lawrence Labatt Laurentians Forwards: Jake Warren, Holy Cross/Kirby Group, Steve DeLong, Holy Cross/Kirby Group


Coach of the Year : Alphonse Warren Memorial Award : Jake Stanford,
Holy Cross/Kirby Group

Rookie of the Year: Ed Moyst Award: Jordi Slaney, St. Lawrence Labatt Laurentians

Most Spirited Player: Jim Goff Memorial Award: Jake Warren, Holy Cross/

Kirby Group

Top Defender: Jeff Babstock Award: Jon Kelly, Mount Pearl/That Pro Look/ Molson

Highest Goal Scorer: Wils Molloy Award: Steve DeLong, Holy Cross/Kirby Group

Most Valuable Player Regular Season: Dick Power Memorial Award: Steve DeLong, Holy Cross/Kirby Group

Holy Cross Kirby Group blanked Mount Pearl-Electronic Centre-Molson 3-0 Saturday for the Breen's Jubilee Cup provincial senior female honors Saturday.

Both champions will represent the province at the national championships October 3 to 8 in Winnipeg.


The provincial youth soccer championships concluded with Mount Pearl winning three of those decided Sunday. St. John's won the other one.


No comments:

Post a Comment