NLSA Molson Challenge Cup

Sunday, October 4, 2009

Hall of Fame add Seven New Members

Seven to be inducted to Hall of Fame

(SOCCER - NL) Newfoundland & Labrador Soccer Association

Tue Sept. 22, 2009 - Seven new members have been elected to the Newfoundland and Labrador Soccer Hall of Fame. Names of the seven, who will be inducted during a November 21 banquet, were announced by provincial president Doug Redmond.

The seven are:

Len Aucoin -Corner Brook

Charlie Chaytor - Mount Pearl

Fred Brien - St.John's

Jim Hamlyn - Feildians

Don Hodder - Guards

Jim Royle - Feildians

Darryl Smith - Holy Cross

"They are seven very worthy soccer individuals," Redmond said. "Their exceptional achievements and contributions are well documented and they are certainly excellent additions to the Hall of Fame."

"Our thanks goes to those who nominated these people and we are hopeful that nominations of similar soccer people will continue to be submitted. There are many others who deserve consideration for Hall of Fame membership." Redmond had "thanks for the manner in which the Hall of Fame Selection Committee fulfilled its mandate this year." Jeff Babstock of St. John's is committee chair with Gordon Dunphy of St. Lawrence and Angus Barrett of St. John's as the other members.

No comments:

Post a Comment